Rosemary butter steak

57g protein the SIMPL way

LinkedIn and I are having relationship problems.

We've been together almost 3 years now...

And considering the way things are going, we may have to part ways.

To quote a famous blues man:

"The thrill is gone."

Still, even though LinkedIn's devolved into a marketplace for coaches that coach coaches on how to coach more coaches, I still occasionally meet people doing cool things there.

Like people who own real businesses.

I met one recently who makes a unique product:

Hemp seed pasta, made in Italy.

Skeptical at first, I accepted the sample he offered me.

"Why add hemp seed to pasta?" I wondered. "Pasta's fine as it is."

I was curious.

So I fired up the old ChatGPT, and what I learned surprised me. Evidently I've been living under a rock this whole time.

Hemp seeds are a legitimate food.

So legit, they've even been promoted to "superfood".

Not only are they a good source of fiber, they contain enough amino acids to form a complete protein.

This dried pasta from W&R Hemp Seed Foods uses traditional methods to add hemp seed flour to the semolina flour dough...

Creating a slow-dried pasta with a relaxed gluten that's easily absorbed by the digestion with less inflammation.

Clearly, it's a healthier pasta than what we're used to eating in the U.S.

But how does it taste? 

That's what I wanted to know. The answer?

After I put it to use in this week's SIMPL recipe, I'm pleased with the results.

The pasta is filling and substantial on its own, but as part of the dish, it absorbs the flavor of the other ingredients nicely.

For this dish, it's fall flavors.

Now that the temperature here in San Diego has dropped below 70, we're craving fall flavors as we dig out our cold weather clothes.

Since mushrooms come to mind when I think of fall, I sautéed 2 lbs of them with some garlic and shallots, deglazing with marsala wine.

Their rich flavor becomes more and more concentrated as their moisture evaporates.

Once they've turned a dark brown, I fold them into the cooked pasta along with some blanched English peas.

Since hemp seed pasta, mushrooms, and peas all have protein, I could just make that a complete meal, and be done with it.

But here at SIMPL, we're not casual consumers of protein.

We're enthusiasts.

So I finish this dish with slices of grass-fed beef top round, generously seasoned with black pepper, seared in a pan, and basted with butter and fresh rosemary.

I'd call it a very substantial, high-protein meal.

Were you unaware of hemp seed, like me?

Then pull yourself out from under your rock and cook this rosemary-butter steak with mushroom ragout and Italian hempseed pasta next week.

Here’s the nutrition breakdown for 1 serving:

  • Calories: 753

    Protein: 57g

    Carbs 53g

    Fat 34g

Rosemary-butter steak with mushroom ragout and Italian hempseed pasta

Get the full 5-portion recipe for this, and all my high-protein dishes when you become a SIMPL Insider.

When you upgrade, you'll also:
  • Get the full-length step-by-step videos showing how I created each weekly dish

  • Save 2+ hours each week by using my links to order ingredients online for delivery (no more grocery shopping)

  • Learn the fundamental skills that separates the kitchen pros from the amateurs in my video: Knife Skills Mastery