Togarashi swordfish skewers

65g protein the SIMPL way

There were 8 hens in my dream, and they ran the egg cartel.

After I collected the eggs from their henhouse one morning, they presented me with this tip screen:

Grudgingly, I tipped them 20%.

Bobbing her feathered head in approval, the boss hen clucked, "See ya tomorrow, sucka."

And as I woke up, I told myself...

"Maybe raising chickens isn't for me."

But who can blame them?

After all, in my dream they were Southern California chickens.

And they were doing the same thing that other local service providers do now.

Still, every time:

  • I order a burrito

  • I get out of a Lyft

  • I go to a coffee shop

  • I enjoy a restaurant meal

I see how the expectation for tipping is getting out of control.

In the past, most workers would just do their work and receive a paycheck.

So it seems odd to be prompted for so many tips.

After all:

Offensive lineman don't present a tip screen to their quarterback after making a crucial block.

And parents don't turn their phone around for their infants to tip them after a diaper change.

Now before I'm labeled a hypocrite, let me say:

My customers at Seasoned Catering have been generous with tips.

And I appreciate them all.

But why don't I PROMPT tipping?

Because that would spoil the spontaneous generosity of it.

Here's the real question:

Who should decide which professionals can ask for a tip...

And who can't?

Being an opinionated man, I'd usually have an answer for something like this.

But after 48 minutes staring blankly at the wall in front of me, I still don't.

Instead?

I'll use this argument as more fuel for my enthusiasm for home cooking.

Adding another bullet point to my overwhelming list of reasons why you should meal prep:

To free yourself from foodservice tip requests.

As I sat on my balcony enjoying the first portion of this week's SIMPL recipe for Togarashi swordfish skewers with soba noodles and Thai peanut sauce...

I wasn't savoring the rich sauce that perfectly coats the fish and noodles…

Or marveling at the fact that it took barely over an hour to cook…

Or noticing how it's filling and refreshing at the same time.

Mostly, I felt grateful for not having to tip anyone.

Which meant I could spend more on quality ingredients like the meaty, delicious swordfish I used.

Get top-quality meat and seafood delivered from Butcher Box

Instead of grilling or broiling a whole fillet, I used an appropriately ironic method for cooking swordfish...

Skewering.

A perfect dish for summer, these swordfish skewers turn out perfectly on the grill.

This time I used my oven broiler, which also works fine.

Before cooking, they're seasoned with salt and a spicy Japanese pepper blend called Togarashi.

Then, after cooking, I squeeze fresh lime juice over the skewers before they're plated.

For the side dish, I called on one of my favorites:

Soba noodles boiled until al dente, then tossed with a colorful blend of thinly-sliced vegetables.

I like to enjoy dishes like this chilled.

And the savory Thai peanut sauce brings it all together with its sweet/tangy/salty taste and smooth, rich texture.

Here's the nutrition breakdown for one portion of this surprisingly high-protein meal:

Calories: 708

Protein: 65g

Carbs: 59g

Fat: 24g

Togarashi swordfish skewers with soba noodles and Thai peanut sauce

You can get the full 5-portion recipe for this, and all my high-protein dishes when you become a SIMPL Insider.

When you upgrade, you'll also:

  • Get the full-length step-by-step videos showing how I created each weekly dish

  • Save 2+ hours each week by using my links to order ingredients online for delivery (no more grocery shopping)

  • Learn the fundamental skills that separates the kitchen pros from the amateurs in my video: Knife Skills Mastery

Get access to this week’s step-by-step cooking video and links to buy ingredients when you upgrade for $19/month.

More high-protein dishes: